Skip to content

October 30, 1864: San Francisco

October 30, 2014

I have all along intended to visit [Virginia City] and the famous silver mines of the region, expecting to take it in on my trip overland. [Today] I had to give up that idea, relinquishing long-cherished hopes and plans. The season is late, my health is not entirely good, there are fresh Indian outbreaks, there is no certainty of my getting through, and even if I should, the expense would be enormous, for I have failed to get a through ticket; so I gave up the plan and [settled on] a short visit.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

