Skip to content

October 12, 1864: San Francisco

October 12, 2014

I have received unofficial notice of my election as professor at Yale, and shall be on the road in a week if I can. I am now working hard to get off early, but will not close my journal yet, for a long trip still lies before me. I have counted up my traveling in the state. It amounts to: horseback, 7,564 miles; on foot, 3,101 miles; public conveyance, 4,440 miles—total, 15,105 miles. Surely a long trail!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. @kleen permalink
    October 12, 2014 11:26 am

    Wah! I am going to miss you, sir.

  2. ploobr permalink
    October 14, 2014 2:43 pm

    Many thanks, Professor Brewer, for reminding all Californians to treasure what we have so close at hand.

Leave a Reply

