Skip to content

June 23, 1864: Rabbit Meadow

June 23, 2014

Big Meadows

Big Meadows; by Tom Hilton, on Flickr


Camp 166

[Today] the weather still looked unsettled. I went to a hunter’s camp and got forty pounds of dried venison and bear meat, and then went on a hunt with him. He shot one deer and had left three others where he had shot them a few days before. He gave me the meat of two and packed them out where we could get them the next day.

Rabbit Meadow

Rabbit Meadow; by Tom Hilton, on Flickr

There is a succession of granite flats and meadows and low granite knolls about that camp, the whole covered with forests. On my way back to camp I got bewildered and lost—for the first time in the state. I walked about two miles to a granite ridge where I could see the country, saw where I was, and then went to camp. It could hardly be called “lost in the Sierra,” as I was not detained an hour, yet it was uncomfortable for the time.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

