Skip to content

November 7, 1863: Meyers

November 7, 2013

I footed it four miles down the road to a little Dutch tavern, where I got the luxury of a clean bed and a clean table, yet had to sit with wet feet and cross feelings all the evening and listen to a drunken miner who was determined to enlighten me on the subject of geology.

I got to talking with our fat, clever little Dutch landlady, who was perfectly delighted to find that I had passed her father’s house, and must doubtless have seen it, in the Kingdom of Württemberg, and that, too, since she had left it. It made us good friends.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 8, 2013 7:48 am

    As I said before, some things never change. I often have to bite my tongue when some of my local miner friends/acquaintances like to demonstrate what they know about the geology of the mines or placer gravels. I just smile and nod my head or say, “gosh, I didn’t know that” LOL

    • William H. Brewer permalink*
      November 14, 2013 9:51 am

      I wondered when I read it whether that was a common occupational hazard. Based on your experience, and on that of another geologist on Twitter, it sounds like it is.

Leave a Reply

