Skip to content

January 31, 1863: Oakland

January 31, 2013
66

Fee protest at U.C. Berkeley; by Keoki Seu, on Flickr

[Today] I went across the bay to Oakland, where I visited the college and saw the president. The college is a small-fry affair, but it is the best in the state, and the largest except a Jesuit college. They are more anxious to have me unite with it than I had expected. I shall probably be offered a professorship, in which case I shall accept it conditionally. I had an offer a few days ago to go into Mexico and examine a silver mine for some capitalists. It went hard to refuse it, but I could not well go, and I did not wish to assume the responsibility of advising in the matter, where I have had so little experience, and where so much money might be lost if my conclusions should not be correct. Therefore, I declined.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

