Skip to content

December 4-5, 1862: East of San Jose

December 5, 2012
Joseph Grant 03

Windmill, Joseph D. Grant County Park; by Tom Hilton, on Flickr

[This week] I took a trip in the mountains east of San Jose, walked nearly a hundred miles, spent one night in a cabin where a family lived on a mountain ranch, but one room, where we all slept—man, wife, five children, and myself. I slept on the floor, the rest had beds. Surely, “half the world does not know how the other half lives.” The food was yet poorer than the other accommodations. The next day, on my way to San Jose, I attempted to explore the Penitentia Canyon, got in, could not get out except by climbing a bank one thousand feet high and fearfully steep. I had to walk twelve miles after it, with a heavy bag of specimens, and the exertion of the climb and the walk after lamed me for a week.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 5, 2012 6:37 pm

    This is very cool. I wish I had found it two years ago. I have read Brewer’s journal a couple of times and will enjoy getting updates as they happen. Let me know if I can help, I have visited many of the locations and have a number of photos.

    Thanks,
    Tom

  2. William H. Brewer permalink*
    December 7, 2012 9:36 am

    Thanks! Glad you like it, and it’s always fun to meet other Brewer fans. I appreciate the offer of photos–I’m trying to get to as many locations as possible, but of course there are quite a few I won’t get around to.

Leave a Reply

