Skip to content

April 11, 1862: Stockton to San Francisco

April 11, 2012

Stockton, California

Stockton, California; by calwest, on Flickr


[Today] they pressed me to receive fifty dollars for my lecture. I can receive nothing, of course, for any outside services while in my present position. I refused all except traveling expenses. They insisted and I refused—at last they paid my traveling expenses, gave me a very neat meerschaum camp pipe (worth ten dollars) and fifteen dollars toward the botanical wants of the Survey. This was evidence enough that my “effort” was appreciated. I came back…delighted with my trip, and already my “meerschaum begins to color.”

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

