Skip to content

June 27, 1861: San Juan Bautista

June 30, 2011

San Juan Bautista 13

Chickens crossing the road, San Juan Bautista; by Tom Hilton, on Flickr

Camp 38

I have not had everything to my mind in camp. Men who came into it with enthusiasm, now that the novelty has worn off, abate their zeal. I had a long talk on the matter with Professor Whitney and I was thinking of either discharging Mike, or making him “toe the mark” closer. I determined to try the latter first. He has been surly under reproof and slack in his work for some time. His work was very light and his wages high (forty-five dollars per month). But [today] I was saved all the trouble by his coming to me and asking to quit. I discharged him without further words…

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

